Timelines

Use timelines to organize and store your research in chronological order.

Create a new timeline

Add records to a timeline

View, edit and sort timelines

Timeline Viewer

Delete a timeline

Create a new timeline

Select ‘Timelines’ from the drop-down list via the ‘My Account’ button.

Account log in dropdown list with timelines option highlighted

Click ‘Create new timeline’.

Create new timeline button

Enter a meaningful ‘Timeline Title’ and a ‘Timeline Description’. Click ‘Save’.

Add timeline dialogue box with timeline title and timeline description fields

Add records to a timeline

Attach records by selecting ‘Add to timeline’ from the Image Viewer. (You can access the Image Viewer via a records search or via the ‘Saved images’ button).

Image viewer with add to timeline action highlighted

Specify the relevant timeline from the ‘Choose Timeline’ drop-down. Provide a meaningful ‘Timeline entry title’ and a ‘Timeline entry description’. Click ‘Save’.

Add timeline entry dialogue box

The error message ‘Record already added to your timeline’ appears when an image is already available on a timeline. Go to your timeline to view the entry.

Record already added to your timeline error message

View, edit and sort timelines

Navigate to the timelines area via the ‘My Account’ button. Use the column headings to sort by ‘Timeline name’, ‘Description’ or ‘Date created’. Select ‘Edit’ to amend a ‘Timeline name’ or ‘Description’ at any time. Select ‘View’ to open the Timeline Viewer.

Timelines area overview

Timeline Viewer

There are three ‘View records’ options: Grid, Map and Report. Grid is the default view. It includes a ‘Filter records’ function to search for records within a timeline. The ‘Download’ button exports timeline results to a CSV file.

The timeline displays records in chronological order. Select ‘Edit’ to amend a Description at any time. Select ‘View’ to open the Image Viewer. Select ‘Remove’ to delete a record entry from the timeline.

Timeline viewer grid layout

Delete a timeline

Navigate to the timelines area via the ‘My Account’ button. Select 'Delete' to remove a timeline permanently. Once deleted, a timeline is unrecoverable. Click ‘Confirm’ to proceed with deletion, otherwise click ‘Cancel’.

Overview of timelines area with delete action highlighted